NSHRF Awards 2017 - 2018

NSHRF Development/ Innovative Grant 2017 - 2018 Recipients

Recipients	Project little	Funding Amount	Funding Term
Remigius Agu College of Pharmacy Syed Imran Department of Endocrinology, NSHA	Novel Nasal Delivery System of Levothyroxine for Hypothyroidism	\$15,000	1 year
Timothy Bardouille Biomedical Translation Imaging Centre (BIOTIC) IWK Health Centre Shaun Boe School of Physiotherapy Dalhousie University Team member: Heather Neyedli	Efficacy of Wireless EEG-Based Neurofeedback to Modulate Brain Activity during Stroke Rehabilitation Therapy: A Pilot Study in Healthy Participants	\$14,540	1 year
Recipients	Project Litle	Funding Amount	Funding Term
Marion Brown School of Social Work Heather Rose Department of Pediatrics IWK Team members: Tara Sampalli, Peter Vanberkel, Carolyn Mitchell, Ruth Martin- Misener, Frederick Burge, Christina Tortorelli, Roxanne Goldade, Andrea Bishop	Addressing Fragmentation in the Health Care of Children in Foster Care	\$14,745	1 year
Marilyn MacDonald School of Nursing Team members: Janice Keefe, Ruth Martin-Misener, Lori Weeks, Melissa Helwig, Susan Stevens, Heather MacLean, Elaine Moody	The experiences and perceptions of unpaid caregivers providing care for community- dwelling adults with a dementia: A qualitative systematic review	\$15,000	1 year
Nancy Ross School of Social Work Sara Torres School of Social Work Team members: Susan Savage, Sheila McDonald, Michael Unger, Robert Gilbert	Measuring Adverse Childhood Experiences, Current Health Challenges and Factors Promoting Resilience among Patients of Lunenburg Family Health Clinic	\$15,000	1 year
Majid Taghavi School of Health Administration Team members: Grace Johnston, Robin Urquhart, Kai Huang, John Henderson, Cheryl Tschupruk	Planning the number and distribution of specialist palliative care personnel for Nova Scotia: An operations research approach	\$14,995	1 year
Sara Torres School of Social Work Ingrid Waldron School of Social Work	Examining protective factors for children's welfare: The case of Indigenous, African Nova Scotian, and Immigrant and Refugee Children in the HRM.	\$14,988	1 year

Team members: Michael Ungar, Nancy		
Ross, Naiomi Metallic, Jeff Karabanow,		
Jemell Moriah, Wenche Gausdal, Natalie		
Downey		

NSHRF Establishment Grant 2017 - 2018 Recipients

Recipients	Project Title	Funding Amount	Funding Term
Marsha Campbell-Yeo			
Department of Pediatrics IWK Health			
Centre	Effect of skin-to-skin contact on acute	¢00.000	2 voors
Team members: Celeste Johnson, Aaron	pain response in the preterm brain	\$99,980	2 years
Newman, Timothy Bardouille, Michael			
Vincer, Bonnie Stevens, Britney Benoit			

Mohammad Hajizadeh School of Health Administration Dalhousie University Yukiko Asada Department of Community Health & Epidemiology Team members: Malcolm King, Amy Bombay, Debbie Martin, Martin Cooke, Mindy Denny, Steve Jreige	The dynamics of health inequalities faced by Indigenous populations in Canada: What factors account for the inequalities?	\$149,581	3 years
---	---	-----------	---------

NSHRF Scotia Scholars Award – Masters Level

Parnell Davis MacNevin (HCD): Supervisor Steve Aiken - \$20,000 over 2 years

Stefan Heinze-Milne (HHP): Supervisor Scott Grandy - \$6,686 over 1 year

Sarah MacCallum (HHP): Supervisor Lynne Robinson – Honorary

Myles O'Brien (HHP): Supervisor Derek Kimmerly - \$10,000 over 1 year

Brianna Richardson (Nursing): Supervisor Marsha Campbell-Yeo - \$10,000 over 1 year

Emily Rogers (Physiotherapy): Supervisor Shaun Boe - \$10,000 over 1 year

Jennifer Searle (Nursing): Supervisor Lisa Goldberg - \$10,000 over 1 year and NSGS (2 years), \$15,000 per year

Christie Silversides (HHP): Supervisor Brad Meisner – Honorary

Jad Sinno (Psychiatry): Supervisor Amy Bombay - \$20,000 over 2 years

NSHRF Scotia Scholars Award – Doctoral Level

Sydney Breneol (Nursing): Supervisors Janet Curran & Marilyn MacDonald - \$60,000 over 4 years. BRIC NS research funding, \$1500, MSSU SPOR (Masters), \$18,000 and CIHR Frederick Banting & Charles Best Scholarship, \$17,500

Timothy Disher (Nursing): Supervisors Marsha Cambell Yeo & Ruth Martin Misener – Honorary

Christopher Friesen (Psychology and Neuroscience): Supervisor Shaun Boe - \$29,019 over 3 years